In Microsoft Money you get a warning if you open the program a second time (Program is already running).
Not sure if this could cause problems but today I succeeded in openening the program 3 times.
No warning when opening MM more than once
-
Campbell
- Site Admin
- Posts: 394
- Joined: Sun 14 Jul, 2024 10:21 am
- Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
- Contact:
Re: No warning when opening MM more than once
Interesting. I haven't really given this much thought. There's a small argument for wanting multiple versions, if you wanted to do a comparison for example. I can either:
- Leave as-is, and allow multiple versions to open.
- Warn you already have a version of More Money open, and ask if you want to open a second copy. Selecting No could focus the open version.
- Never open a new version, and always just focus the open version.
Re: No warning when opening MM more than once
A warning would be ok for me.
At this moment I have severall More Money files.
One with my portefolio and the accounts they are linked to.
Another file with my normal accounts.
So it might be interesting to be able to work on both.
But a warning would be good. I do not know if something might go wrong if the same file is opened twice or more
At this moment I have severall More Money files.
One with my portefolio and the accounts they are linked to.
Another file with my normal accounts.
So it might be interesting to be able to work on both.
But a warning would be good. I do not know if something might go wrong if the same file is opened twice or more
-
Campbell
- Site Admin
- Posts: 394
- Joined: Sun 14 Jul, 2024 10:21 am
- Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
- Contact:
Re: No warning when opening MM more than once
Ok, I'll make it a warning.
Currently you would be able to open your data file in multiple versions of More Money, and each any changes you make in either would be saved, but would overwrite the other. So I'll put a lock on the file to prevent this happening.
Currently you would be able to open your data file in multiple versions of More Money, and each any changes you make in either would be saved, but would overwrite the other. So I'll put a lock on the file to prevent this happening.